4 Corners


Revamped women's football leagues for 2018/19 season

30-May-2018 10:34
in General
by Admin

Following a complex bidding process and anxious wait the FA this week announced the teams that will play in the top 2 tiers of women's football in the 2018/19 season.

Tier 1- Women's Super League, which will be full time and professional includes; Arsenal Women FC, Birmingham City Ladies, Brighton & Hove Albion Women, Bristol City Women, Chelsea FC Women, Everton Ladies FC, Liverpool Ladies FC, Manchester City Women, Reading FC Women, Yeovil Town Ladies and West Ham United Ladies.

Tier 2- Women's Championship, which will be part time and semi-professional includes; Aston Villa Ladies FC, Doncaster Rovers Belles, Durham Women FC, London Bees, Millwall Lionesses, Sheffield FC Ladies, Tottenham Hotspur Ladies, Charlton Athletic Women, Leicester City Women, Lewes FC Women, Manchester United Women and Sheffield United Ladies.

The announcement had winners and losers. West Ham United Ladies was the only team outside of WSL1 or 2 to sucessfully bid to join tier 1. 

Manchester United Women have been parachuted into tier 2, the Women's Championship. Lewes FC Women, Leicester City Women and Charlton Athletic Women are the only other sides in the Women's Championship who weren't previoulsy in WSL2.

Sunderland AFC Ladies, who played last season in WSL1 made a late bid to join the tier 1 Women's Super League. Their bid was rejected which leaves Sunderland with the prospect of playing in the 3rd tier of women's football this coming season.

Watford Ladies FC and Oxford United Women, both of whom played in WSL2 last season also face playing in the 3rd tier in 2018/19.

From 2018/19 tier 3 will be called FA Women's National League- Premier and Tier 4 will be known as FA Women's National League Div 1.